Welcome to USCIRF

Kristina Arriaga de Bucholz, Commissioner

Kristina Arriaga de Bucholz has been the Executive Director of the Becket Fund for Religious Liberty since 2010. At Becket she leads a team of lawyers and communications professionals who defend our first freedom in the U.S. and abroad. Kristina first joined the Becket Fund in 1995, bringing many years of experience in the fight for liberty.

After starting her career in D.C. working for U.S. Ambassador José Sorzano at the Cuban American National Foundation, she became an advisor to the U.S. delegation to the UN Human Rights Commission (UNHRC). Splitting her time between the seat of the UNHRC in Geneva and Washington, D.C., Kristina worked on raising awareness of the plight of political prisoners with New York Times bestselling author, former political prisoner, Armando Valladares who was named Ambassador to the UN Human Rights Commission. After returning permanently to the U.S., Kristina continued to work on behalf of defectors and refugees. Her work orchestrating the spectacular airplane rescue of a defector's family from Cuba earned her recognition in media all over the world including Reader's Digest and Vanity Fair.  No less adventurous was her time working on domestic affairs as an Intergovernmental Relations Officer at the Department of Housing and Urban Development and then later as a four-year appointee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.

Kristina is sought out as an expert on religious liberty issues. She has written numerous articles on the topic, has spoken at several conferences and has appeared on multiple television and radio programs including MSNBC, C-Span, FOX and NPR.

In between swapping hats at the Becket Fund, she has had the greatest adventure of all: she is happily married and has three kids. Kristina has a Master of Arts in Liberal Studies from Georgetown University and an undergraduate degree from Marquette University.

Kristina Arriaga was appointed to the Commission on May 13, 2016 by Speaker of the House Paul Ryan (R-WI) for a two-year term expiring on May 2018.