Welcome to USCIRF

Commission Congratulates Commissioner McCarrick On Receipt of Human Rights Award

Dec. 7, 2000

Lawrence J. Goodrich, Communications Director, (202) 523-3240, ext. 27

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom today congratulated Archbishop Theodore McCarrick, a Commission member, on his receipt of the Eleanor Roosevelt Human Rights Award. President Clinton presented the award December 6.

"We are proud to claim Archbishop McCarrick as one of our own, but humbled by his lifelong service to and concern for religious freedom and human rights," said Commission Chairman Elliott Abrams. "President Clinton rightly saw in him the qualities Mrs. Roosevelt brought to her campaign for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights."

Currently Roman Catholic Archbishop of Newark, N.J., McCarrick was recently named Archbishop of Washington, D.C. by Pope John Paul II. He will be installed January 4. Archbishop McCarrick was appointed to the U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom by Senate minority leader Thomas Daschle (D) of South Dakota. His term expires on May 14, 2000, and he is eligible for reappointment.

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom was created by the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 to monitor the status of freedom of thought, conscience, and religion or belief abroad, as defined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and related international instruments, and to give independent policy recommendations to the President, the Secretary of State and the Congress." src="https://www.uscirf.org/images/layout/subbottomtext1.gif" />

Hon. Elliott Abrams,Chair
  • Dr. Firuz Kazemzadeh,Vice ChairRabbi David SapersteinLaila Al-Marayati, M.D.Hon. John R. BoltonDean Michael K. YoungArchbishop Theodore E. McCarrickNina SheaJustice Charles Z. SmithAmbassador Robert Seiple,Ex-OfficioSteven T. McFarland,Executive Director