Welcome to USCIRF

Commission to Hold Press Conference, Issue First Annual Report

April 26, 2000

Lawrence J. Goodrich, Communications Director, (202) 523-3240

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom May 1 will issue its first annual report, which will contain recommendations to the President, Secretary of State, and Congress for significant changes in U.S. policy towards China and Sudan. Rabbi David Saperstein, the Commission Chair, and Dean Michael Young, Vice Chair, will hold a press conference along with other Commissioners to discuss highlights of the report and its implications for foreign policy, including the upcoming congressional vote on Permanent Normal Trade Relations for China. The report is required annually under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998.

Who:U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom

What:Press Conference

When:Monday, May 1, 2000, 10:00 am

Where:The National Press Club, 529 14th Street, NW, Washington, DC

Lisagor Room

Copies of the executive summary and the annual report will be available at the press conference and will also be posted on the Commission Web site at www.uscirf.gov beginning at 10:00 a.m.. Interviews with Commissioners may be arranged by contacting Lawrence J. Goodrich, Director of Communications, at (202) 523-3240.

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom was created by the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 to monitor the status of freedom of thought, conscience, and religion or belief abroad, as defined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and related international instruments, and to give independent policy recommendations to the President, the Secretary of State and the Congress." src="https://www.uscirf.org/images/layout/subbottomtext1.gif" />

Rabbi David Saperstein,Chair
  • Dean Michael K. Young,Vice ChairHon. Elliott AbramsLaila Al-Marayati, M.D.Hon. John R. BoltonFiruz KazemzadehArchbishop Theodore E. McCarrickNina SheaJustice Charles Z. SmithAmbassador Robert Seiple,Ex-OfficioSteven T. McFarland,Executive Director