Welcome to USCIRF

Commission To Issue Report Card on Religious Freedom on Eve of Human Rights Day

December 6, 2000

Lawrence J. Goodrich, Communications Director, (202) 523-3240, ext. 27

WHAT:The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom will hold a press conference to release its report critiquing the implementation of the International Religious Freedom Act (IRFA) and the State Department's second Annual Report on International Religious Freedom. In its report, the Commission assesses the effectiveness of the IRFA process as it has been enforced by the Administration and Congress in its second year. Commission Chairman Elliott Abrams and Commissioner Nina Shea will conduct the press conference.

WHEN:Friday, December 8, 2000 at 10:00 a.m.

WHERE:Room 2200, Rayburn House Office Building

BACKGROUND:One of the guiding purposes and principles behind the IRFA is to make the issue of international religious freedom an integral part of this nation's foreign policy agenda. Many conditions of religious persecution around the world can be alleviated by careful, committed action by the United States. If the IRFA process is working properly and vigorously, much more attention will be paid to the issue of religious freedom as a matter of U.S. foreign policy. With Human Rights Day on Sunday, December 10, the Commissioners will address the effectiveness of the IRFA process and the Administration's handling of this issue as a foreign policy matter. Copies of the report will be available on Friday, December 8 and can be obtained by contacting the Commission's communications department at (202) 523-3240. The report can also be found on the Commission's Web site at www.uscirf.gov.

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom was created by the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 to monitor the status of freedom of thought, conscience, and religion or belief abroad, as defined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and related international instruments, and to give independent policy recommendations to the President, the Secretary of State and the Congress." src="https://www.uscirf.org/images/layout/subbottomtext1.gif" />

Hon. Elliott Abrams,Chair
  • Dr. Firuz Kazemzadeh,Vice ChairRabbi David SapersteinLaila Al-Marayati, M.D.Hon. John R. BoltonDean Michael K. YoungArchbishop Theodore E. McCarrickNina SheaJustice Charles Z. SmithAmbassador Robert Seiple,Ex-OfficioSteven T. McFarland,Executive Director