

#### **Catholics**

Catholic clergy and laypeople face severe repression in Nicaragua. The government of Nicaragua has arbitrarily imprisoned clergy and laypeople on bogus charges, eliminated Church-affiliated organizations, and placed restrictions on religious observances. Catholics also endure hate speech, and clergy are often denied entry back into the country.



#### Adela Tercero

ARRESTED:

August 19, 2023

REASON FOR PERSECUTION:

Association with a Catholic university



#### Gabriela Morales

ARRESTED:

August 19, 2023

REASON FOR PERSECUTION:

Association with a Catholic university



#### Freddy Quezada

ARRESTED.

November 29, 2023

REASON FOR PERSECUTION:

Criticizing religious freedom conditions



### Evelyn Guillén

ARRESTED:

August 5, 2023

REASON FOR PERSECUTION:

Calling for the release of imprisoned Catholic clergy



### Alex Javier Gómez Bustos

August 5, 2023

REASON FOR PERSECUTION:

Calling for the release of imprisoned Catholic clergy



# **Emmanuel Gutiérrez**

ARRESTED:

April 5, 2023

SENTENCE:

8 Years' Imprisonment

REASON FOR PERSECUTION:

Participating in a Catholic procession



The Nicaraguan government does not respect the freedom of the press and targets journalists whose reporting is perceived to threaten the regime. While journalists reporting on any topic are susceptible to harassment, those who cover religious issues are especially at risk.



# Victor Ticay

RELIGION OR BELIEF: Unspecified

ARRESTED: April 6, 2023

SENTENCE:

8 Years' Imprisonment

REASON FOR PERSECUTION:

Recording a banned Easter celebration and posting the footage online

**FoRB Victims List Stats** 68 out of 2,282

	00 000
Religion or Belief	# of Victims
Catholic	47
Protestant	11
Unspecified	10
Total	68

· -/	
Type of Abuse	# of Victims
Detained	47
Imprisoned	21
Total	68

**Average Prison Sentence** 9 Years 3 Months

, 100110/011	
Reports of	# of Victims
Torture	0
Medical Neglect	1
Total	1

# Nicaragua



# Frank R. Wolf FoRB Victims List Background

The International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 (IRFA), as amended by the Frank R. Wolf International Religious Freedom Act of 2016, requires USCIRF to:

make publicly available, to the extent practicable...lists of persons it determines are imprisoned or detained, have disappeared, been placed under house arrest, been tortured, or subjected to forced renunciation of faith for their religious activity or religious freedom advocacy by the government of a foreign country that the Commission recommends for designation as a country of particular concern [CPC]...or by a nonstate actor that the Commission recommends for designation as an entity of particular concern [EPC].

USCIRF developed the Frank R. Wolf Freedom of Religion or Belief (FoRB) Victims List—an online public database—to implement this provision for countries USCIRF recommends for Country of Particular Concern (CPC) or Special Watch List (SWL) status. The list also includes such victims located in the de facto territories of nonstate actors that USCIRF recommends for Entity of Particular Concern (EPC) status, according to the same criteria.

Due to limited resources, USCIRF is unable to identify and document all victims that meet the statutory requirement to be included on the FoRB Victims List and generally relies on receiving submissions from outside individuals and organizations. As such, the information contained in the database does not reflect country, regional, or global trends. Furthermore, percentages highlighted in this section should not be used for extrapolation purposes nor interpreted as a particular group experiencing greater violations than another or a particular country committing violations at a greater rate than others. To support this project, USCIRF invites those with credible information on victims to submit information using the Victims List Intake Form at www.uscirf.gov/form/uscirf-victims-list-intake-form.

# **FoRB Victims List Stats Overall**

Perpetrator	Victims Documented
Algeria	5
Azerbaijan	11
Burma	5
China	798
Cuba	11
Egypt	18
Eritrea	61
Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham (HTS)	2
Houthis India	3
Indonesia	55 9
Iran	351
Iraq	2
Islamic State in West Africa Province (ISWAP)	1
Kazakhstan	16
	4
Malaysia	
Nicaragua	68
Nigeria	9
North Korea	11
Pakistan	87
Russia	488
Saudi Arabia	50
Sri Lanka	1
Tajikistan	16
Turkmenistan	31
Uzbekistan	88
Vietnam	81
Total	2,282

Religion or Belief	Victims Documented
Adivasi	Victims Documented
Ahmadi Religion of Peace and Light	3
Baha'i	169
Bon	107
Buddhist – Hoa Hao	6
Buddhist - Theravada	3
Buddhist - Tibetan	93
Buddhist - Insectified/Other	32
Christian – Catholic	79
Christian – Catholic Christian – Church of Almighty God	240
Christian – Jehovah's Witness	283
Christian – Orthodox	203
Christian – Protestant	150
	65
Christian – Unspecified/Other	4
Duong Van Minh	1
ECKist (Eckankar)	3
Erfan-e Halgheh Practitioner	217
Falun Gong Hindu	10
Humanist	1
Jewish	1
Muslim – Ahmadiyya	20
Muslim – Qur'anist	1
Muslim – Shi'a	40
Muslim – Sufi	64
Muslim – Sunni	412
Muslim – Unspecified/Other	233
Santeria	5
Scientologist	1
Shaman	1
Sikh	1
Yarsani	38
Unknown/Unspecified	83
Total	2,282

# Nicaragua



#### **Not Released**

Alex Javier Gómez Bustos Evelyn Guillén María Asunción Salgado Salvador Paguaga Freylin Axarael Moreno Ponce Francisco Odorico Castilblanco Ervin López Marisela de Fátima Mejía Ruiz Walner Omier Blandón Ochoa César Facundo Burgalin Miranda Orvin Alexis Moncada Castellano Juan Luis Moncada Juan Carlos Chavarría Zapata Álvaro Daniel Escobar Caldera José Luis Orozco Urrutia Manuel de Jesús Ríos Flores Harry Lening Rios Bravo Marcos Sergio Hernández Jirón Emmanuel Gutiérrez Jimmy Antonio Bonilla Freddy Quezada Mariví Andino Freydell Andino María Verónica Herrera Galeano Bladimir Pallés Julio Berríos Julio Sevilla Gabriela Morales Adela Tercero Victor Ticay

#### Released

Tony Palacios Alester Sáenz José Gustavo Sandino Ochoa Ismael Serrano Jader Hernández Miguel Mántica Gerardo Rodríguez Raúl Zamora Mykel Monterrey Marcos Díaz Prado Fernando Calero Carlos Avilés Héctor Treminio Silvio Fonseca Pablo Villafranca Óscar Escoto Isidro Mora Yesner Cipriano Pineda Meneses Ramón Esteban Angulo Reyes Álvaro Toledo Cristóbal Gadea Iván Centeno Julio Ricardo Norori Osman José Amador Guillén Fernando Zamora Silva Leonardo Guevara Gutiérrez Eugenio Rodríguez Benavides Jaime Iván Montesinos Sauceda Enrique Martínez Oscar Benavidez Sergio Cárdenas Melkin Sequeira Darvin Leiva José Luis Díaz Raúl Antonio Vega Sadiel Eugarrios Ramiro Tijerino Rolando Álvarez