Welcome to USCIRF

Commission to Issue Second Annual Report, Hold Press Conference

April 26, 2001

Lawrence J. Goodrich, Communications Director, (202) 523-3240, ext. 27

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom will issue its second Annual Report, which will contain policy recommendations to the President, Secretary of State, and Congress. The Annual Report addresses religious-freedom issues in almost two dozen countries, with individual recommendations on the following: China, India, Indonesia, Iran, North Korea, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russia, Sudan, Vietnam, access to U.S. capital markets, and U.S. foreign assistance. Commission Chairman Elliott Abrams and other Commission members will hold a press conference to discuss highlights of the report and take questions from the media.

Who:U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom

What:Press Conference, Second Annual Report

When:Monday, April 30, 2001, 10:00 a.m.

Where:The Capitol Building, Room HC-8

Copies of the executive summary and the Annual Report will be available at the press conference and will also be posted on the Commission Web site at www.uscirf.gov beginning at 10:00 a.m. They can also be obtained by contacting the Communications department at (202) 523-3240. Interviews with Commissioners may be arranged by contacting Lawrence J. Goodrich, Director of Communications, at (202) 523-3240, ext. 27.

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom was created by the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 to monitor the status of freedom of thought, conscience, and religion or belief abroad, as defined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and related international instruments, and to give independent policy recommendations to the President, the Secretary of State and the Congress." src="https://www.uscirf.org/images/layout/subbottomtext1.gif" />

Hon. Elliott Abrams,Chair
  • Dr. Firuz Kazemzadeh,Vice ChairRabbi David SapersteinLaila Al-Marayati, M.D.Hon. John R. BoltonDean Michael K. YoungArchbishop Theodore E. McCarrickNina SheaJustice Charles Z. SmithAmbassador Robert Seiple,Ex-OfficioSteven T. McFarland,Executive Director