Welcome to USCIRF

Hearings on Religious Freedom in India, Pakistan

September 14, 2000

Lawrence J. Goodrich, Communications Director, (202) 523-3240

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom is holding hearings on Monday, September 18 in Washington, D.C. to examine religious freedom in India and Pakistan. The hearings are scheduled from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. in the Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room 419.

The witnesses and schedule are as follows:

9:00 - 9:15 Welcome and Introductory Remarks by Chairman Elliott Abrams

9:15 - 10:45 India: Situation Analysis

Panel 1:

Ainslie Embree Professor Emeritus, Columbia University

Arvind Sharma Professor, McGill University

Mumtaz Ali Khan Sociologist

John Dayal Secretary General, All India Christian Council

Panel 2:

Ghulam Nabi Fai Kashmir American Council

Ainslie Embree Professor Emeritus, Columbia University

Vijay Sazawal Indo-American Kashmir Forum

10:45 - 11:00 Break

11:00 - 12:15 Pakistan: Situation Analysis

Panel 1:

Mumtaz Ahmad Professor, Hampton University, Hampton, Va.

Mohan Shahani Attorney, Karachi

The Rev. James Channan Roman Catholic priest, Lahore

Mujeeb Rahman Attorney, Islamabad

12:15 - 1:30 Lunch break

1:30 - 3:00 Policy Options: India and Pakistan

Panel 1:

Marshall Bouton Executive Vice President, Asia Society

Sumit Ganguly Professor, University of Texas

Tamara Sonn Professor, College of William & Mary

Robert Oakley Former Ambassador to Pakistan, National Defense University

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom was created by the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 to monitor the status of freedom of thought, conscience, and religion or belief abroad, as defined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and related international instruments, and to give independent policy recommendations to the President, the Secretary of State and the Congress." 

The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom




Hon. Elliott Abrams,Chair

  • Dr. Firuz Kazemzadeh, Vice Chair, Rabbi David Saperstein, Laila Al-Marayati, M.D.Hon. John R. Bolton, Dean Michael K. Young, Archbishop Theodore E. McCarrick, Nina Shea, Justice Charles Z. Smith, Ambassador Robert Seiple, Ex-Officio, Steven T. McFarland, Executive Director